News‎ > ‎

Matthew Brogan wins Hugh Webb Merit Award 2017

posted 10 Dec 2017, 03:01 by Phil Shemmings
The Hugh Webb Merit Award was donated to us by our friends at Bigfoot CC to be awarded each year to one young rider in our club in recognition of their outstanding achievement or contribution.

Our club is full of young riders with excellent qualities – a "have a go" attitude, trying lots of things, dedicated, committed, fun, funny, determined, helpful, happy, hard working, smiling, energetic, enthusiastic, encouraging – they are great role models, and they can ride bikes too!
We are proud of them all and we are sure you are too.
Below is a list of those who are highly commended. But we have to pick the award winner. We shortlisted to four riders for this award, they all epitomise the club’s qualities, they have all grown with the club, and they are all special!
Matthew Brogan – has been cycling with the club for many years, and for some time he has been volunteering and helping out with our younger riders. He has been really helpful and is a great asset. He is now a trained Level 1 cycling coach.
James Harwood – a regular and determined racing cyclist both in our own cycle races and at a regional level. He has been praised by our coaching team as being one of our most gifted cyclists.
Roisin Smith and Rachel Young – both in our club for many years and have gained racing success in our race events; both have enthusiastically taken on all the challenges and cycling events we have thrown at them; both are now volunteering and helping our younger riders; both have qualified for and are taking part in the Jack Petchey Achievers Scheme – and through that they are leading and arranging our first Go-Ride club-wide awards celebration for next year.

The winner however is................. Matthew Brogan, CONGRATULATIONS!

He was presented with his award at the Bigfoot CC Christmas social.

Those with special commendations (in no particular order):

Ian Hudson
Henry Davies
Sam Rushmere
Sameeha Haque
William Carroll
William Mitchell
Isabelle Stoneham
Eleanor Thompson
Frans-Louis van Schalkwyk
Zoe Howard
Safir Haque
Marco Overbeeke